T20 World Cup: NAM vs IRE Live Score: Ireland opt to bat

NAM vs IRE Live Score T20 World Cup: Kevin O Brien, Paul Stirling kick start Ireland's innings - Follow Live Updates
NAM vs IRE Live Score T20 World Cup: Kevin O Brien, Paul Stirling kick start Ireland’s innings – Follow Live Updates

NAM vs IRE Live Score T20 World Cup: With just one spot left in Group A, Namibia and Netherlands will be looking to get through when squaring off at Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Sharjah on Friday afternoon. The equation for both teams is pretty simple – win the game and advance into the next round. On the other hand, Sri Lanka stormed into Super 12 with its 70 runs win over Ireland the other night becoming the first team from Group A to qualify for the main draw. The Netherlands have been eliminated and will be eying to salvage their pride when they take on table-toppers in Sri Lanka later in the evening. For more T20 World Cup live updates, follow us at

NAM vs IRE Live Score T20 World Cup

First Innings

2nd Over – David Wiese comes into the attack.

1st Over – Ruben Trumpelmann to open bowling for Namibia. Just 3 runs from the first over. Kevin O Brien, Paul Stirling kick start Ireland’s innings.

Toss Report

Ireland captain Andrew Balbirnie won the toss and opted to bat first against Nambia in the 11th group A match here at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Sharjah on Friday.

Ireland (Playing XI): Paul Stirling, Kevin O Brien, Andrew Balbirnie(c), Gareth Delany, Curtis Campher, Harry Tector, Neil Rock(w), Mark Adair, Simi Singh, Craig Young, Joshua Little

Namibia (Playing XI): Zane Green(w), Craig Williams, Michael van Lingen, Gerhard Erasmus(c), David Wiese, JJ Smit, Jan Frylinck, Pikky Ya France, Jan Nicol Loftie-Eaton, Ruben Trumpelmann, Bernard Scholtz

Both team captains at the toss

Gerhard Erasmus: We would have had a bowl first. Obviously it is a new wicket and we are looking to take information from their batting innings to ours. With a nice batting line-up we like to chase.

Andrew Balbirnie: We are going to bat first. We quite like the idea of getting some runs on the board in a big game and hopefully putting pressure on them. Should be an okay pitch but we are not 100 percent sure how it will play. We watched a lot of IPL here, the night games had a bit of dew. We were up against a pretty good Sri Lankan team, that can happen. We have been in good form. Same XI.

Also read: India vs Pakistan Live: Virat Kohli ‘Not nervous about big clash’ – Check what he has to say!

NAM vs IRE: Namibia & Ireland vie for the second spot in Group A: Ireland and Namibia both have managed one win and one loss in two outings and share 2 points each. The 70 runs defeat against Sri Lanka, dented Ireland’s net run rate massively but they still have a fair chance of making it to the Super 12. Ireland needs to beat Namibia to progress to the Super 12 stage and the same applies to Namibia.

Namibia started off with 7 wickets defeat against Sri Lanka but came back strongly against the Netherlands securing 6 wickets win which is also their first victory in the World Cup.

Ireland, on the other hand, was off to an ideal start with 7 wickets win over the Netherlands but suffered a huge 70 runs defeat against Sri Lanka in the second outing.

Group AMatWonLostTiedNRPtsNRR
Sri Lanka220004+3.165

Namibia Playing XI:

Stephan Baard, Zane Green (wk), Craig Williams, Gerhard Erasmus (c), David Wiese, JJ Smit, Michael van Lingen, Jan Frylinck, Jan Nicol Loftie-Eaton, Ruben Trumpelmann, Bernard Scholtz

Ireland Playing XI:

Paul Stirling, Kevin O Brien, Andrew Balbirnie (c), Gareth Delany, Curtis Campher, Harry Tector, Neil Rock (wk), Simi Singh, Mark Adair, Joshua Little, Craig Young

Also read: ICC T20 World Cup: Advertising rates on Star Sports break all records for India – Pakistan match, tickets completely sold-out

SL vs NED: Netherlands eyes a win against Sri Lanka to bid adieu to the tournament: The Netherlands were knocked out of the ICC T20 World Cup 2021 after Namibia registered an impressive six-wicket win over them. Sitting at the bottom of Group A, the Dutch are yet to open their account in the tournament. They will be hoping to do that against Sri Lanka in their final fixture to end the campaign on a high.

Sri Lanka, on the other hand, will be looking to fix their batting woes which were on full display against Ireland until Wanindu Hasaranga and Pathum Nissanka came to the rescue. This is their last chance to pull up their socks and get ready for the world-class competition in the Super 12 round.

Netherlands Playing XI:

Max ODowd, Stephan Myburgh, Bas de Leede, Colin Ackermann, Ryan ten Doeschate, Scott Edwards (wk), Roelof van der Merwe, Pieter Seelaar (c), Logan van Beek, Timm van der Gugten, Fred Klaassen

Sri Lanka Playing XI:

Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Perera (wk), Dinesh Chandimal, Avishka Fernando, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dasun Shanaka (c), Chamika Karunaratne, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dushmantha Chameera, Maheesh Theekshana, Lahiru Kumara

Also read: India’s New T20 Captain: BCCI official confirms, ‘Rohit Sharma will take over T20 captaincy from Kohli, official announcement after World Cup’

T20 World Cup live streaming: How to watch T20 World Cup live scores?

Star Sports Network is the official broadcaster for T20 WC 2021 in India and other sub-continent regions. The Star Sports broadcasting network will live telecast all action of the upcoming event starting October 17.

The live streaming of the mega event will also be available on digital platforms courtesy Disney+Hotstar App in India and other sub-continent regions.

For more T20 WORLD CUP live updates, follow us at

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *