Left wins narrow majority in UNISON Labour Link committee election – LabourList

Candidates on the left slate ‘Time for Real Change’ have won a narrow majority on the Labour Link committee of the Labour-affiliated trade union UNISON as results published today show they secured six of the 11 seats up for grabs.

Billie Reynolds, Paul Holmes, Aileen McLoughlin and Ruth Cashman from the left slate were all successful, while Tracy Grant and Mark Fisher were elected unopposed. Helen Smith, Anjona Roy and Joanne Moorcroft lost their elections.

Of the candidates backed by Labour to Win, Janet McKenna, Karen Atkinson and Linda Hobson were successful, and Katrina Murray and Steve Jones won their uncontested elections. Anu Prashar, Maureen Cleator, Alison Evans and Ken Curran lost their battles.

There are 12 other Labour Link seats, which come from UNISON’s national executive council and are currently evenly balanced politically. Overall, this gives the left 12 Labour Link seats and a majority of one – though UNISON president Paul Holmes is suspended.

The ballot was conducted entirely by post and votes for the regional representatives had to be returned by October 13th. Labour Link makes decisions about UNISON’s relationship with Labour and how the union votes in Labour elections and selections.

Below are the 2021 Labour Link committee election results.

RegionCandidate elected
EasternTracy Grant
East MidlandsJanet McKenna
Greater LondonRuth Cashman
NorthernLinda Hobson
North WestKaren Atkinson
ScotlandKatrina Murray
South EastBillie Reynolds
South WestAileen McLoughlin
Wales/CymruMark Fisher
West MidlandsSteve Jones
Yorkshire and HumbersidePaul Holmes

Value our free and unique service?

LabourList has more readers than ever before – but we need your support. Our dedicated coverage of Labour’s policies and personalities, internal debates, selections and elections relies on donations from our readers.

Support LabourList

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *