City Oval wins Tuesday Premier Pennant with narrow win over fast-finishing Midlands | The Courier

The Hawks certified 9 of its 10 squads into finals this season, marking a yr to recollect because it celebrated its 100th birthday with premier pennant success.

But it wanted all its guile and expertise to carry off Midlands within the 58-53 win, selecting up two pictures within the ultimate finish to safe the win, with Midlands champion David Speechley lacking what would have been a miracle final shot of the competition.

Early days it regarded as if City Oval would waltz to a giant win, Chris Smith’s crew dominated towards the squad skippered by Gregory Plier profitable 25-13, however it failed to totally take benefit late, as Midlands fought again with some essential pictures.

Midlands’ Paul Kennedy was too sturdy for City Oval’s Ian Robinson, with the ultimate rating studying 20-11 which meant it was as much as Speechley and Roberts who battled it out for the prize, Roberts holding on 22-20 selecting up the ultimate two pictures when Midlands’ all or nothing try simply missed the mark.

David Speechley tries to direct his bowl in the tight final match. Picture: Lachlan Bence

David Speechley tries to direct his bowl within the tight ultimate match. Picture: Lachlan Bence

Smith stated he was thrilled to have a good time the win together with his teammates, praising the efficiency of lead Peter Orr, who he stated was the clear bowler of the day.

“We expected they would come back, we always have a good game against Midlands,” Smith stated.

“The club is looking really good and hopefully this success will inspire even more younger bowlers to come along and try out.

“Our chief (Orr) bowled brilliantly, he was by far our greatest bowler on the day. Our quantity two (Cheryl Magrath) was excellent as was Elizabeth Kierce (at three), it was a terrific crew effort.”

Speechley said it was a grand final match-up befitting the best two teams in the competition.

“We had a sneaky likelihood in that final one, however I believed we had been stiff on the second final finish the place we misplaced three after we may have been 4 up,” he said.

City Oval celebrates its narrow win over Midlands. Picture: Lachlan Bence

City Oval celebrates its narrow win over Midlands. Picture: Lachlan Bence

“But it was an excellent sport, we’re at all times aggressive towards one another, however full credit score to them, they had been simply too good on the day.”

In all, five different premiership and five different clubs celebrating a title is the perfect scenario for the Ballarat Highlands Bowls Region Tuesday pennant after grand final days were held across Ballarat.

There were plenty of other close matches across the board from Divisions 1 to 4 with Daylesford holding off Beaufort by four shots to claim Division 1 honours while Linton squeezed past Victoria to score a 59-54 win in Division 2.

Division 3 was the biggest margin of the day with Webbcona proving too good for Smeaton in a three-rink win 78-41, while Ballan held off City Oval to take the Division 4 title.

City Oval 58 def Midlands 53

Peter Orr, Cheryl Magrath, Elizabeth Kierce, Chris Smith 25 def Judy Wilson, Christine Hawken, Paul Carlyle, Gregory Plier 13, Janine Roberts, Sally McCracken, Peter Cameron, Wayne Roberts 22 def June Henry, Eric Kosloff, Lynette Lock, David Speechley 20, Betty Paton, Sandra Grano, Leigh McKenzie, Ian Robinson 11 def by Maureen Goldsmith, Geoffrey Jenkins, Patricia Speechley, Paul Kennedy 20

Beaufort 63 def by Daylesford 67

James Cameron, Ros Vowles, Jennie Godfrey, William Godfrey 21 def by Ted Goodwin, Margaret Coffey, Rodney Poxon, Rose Marshall 26, Ann Topp, Wilma Wereszczuk, Peter Milenkovic, Frank Gilders 17 def by Wendy Goodwin, Liz Wigmore, Stevan Stupavski, Maureen Tate 24, Janet Carson, Rohan Quinton, Carmel Milenkovic, Victor Dunn 25 def Gerald Coffey, Lois Voterakis, Anne Bremmer, Dot Bull 17,

Linton won Division 2, defeating Victoria by five shots. Picture: Adam Trafford

Linton won Division 2, defeating Victoria by five shots. Picture: Adam Trafford

Linton 59 def Victoria 54

Sydney Walters, Maragret Phillips, Karen Hall, Eugene Grigg 21 def Marlene Davis, Dante Prenc, Francis McGuigan, Max Philipson 12, Ray Wilson, Judy Hucker, James Fraser, John Hertherington 24 def Arthur David, Rhonda Chapman, John Jackson, Kevin Coad 20. Lynette White, Doug Hucker, Brendan Vandenberg, Craig Grenfell 14 def by Vicki Chapman, Brett Harrison, George Pyke, Robert Whitcher 22

Webbcona won Division 3. Picture: Lachlan Bence

Webbcona won Division 3. Picture: Lachlan Bence

Webbcona 78 def Smeaton 41

Brett Collins, Helen Williams, Rod Barton, Luci Smolski 22 def David Davidson, Judith Slater, Shane Slater, Robert Seamons 15, Margaret Alpen, Ron Davidson, Leon Stevens, Bob Rodger 30 def Frances Muller, David Pedretti, Sue Richards, Robin Cawthan 14, Glad Gullock, Robert Shepherd, Vicki Waldron, Tony Hendy 26 def Val Rumler, Marilyn Stephens, Denic Sandford, Carol McKay 12

Ballan defeated City Oval to win Division 4.

Ballan defeated City Oval to win Division 4.

Ruby Armstrong, Brian Dowling, Jan Conroy, Chris Love def Ray Rhodes, Robert Oonk, Dorothy Mahony, Colin Gibson, Keith Burgin, Maren Jones, Fia Kunigskis, Grant Stirling def John Ryan, Lynne Rhodes, James Fitzpatrick, Bernard Clebney (no scores submitted)

Source hyperlink

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.