Assembly sets special election date to fill new seat representing North Anchorage

The Anchorage Assembly chambers at the Z. J. Loussac Public Library in Anchorage.
The Anchorage Assembly chambers on the Z. J. Loussac Public Library in Anchorage. (Staff photograph)

The 11-member Anchorage Assembly will quickly have a twelfth. 

In 2020, voters accredited a change within the metropolis’s constitution to incorporate a twelfth seat on the Assembly.

The Assembly declared a emptiness in District 1 on Tuesday throughout a particular assembly after approving new district boundaries, which roughly doubled the district’s dimension. The district represents North Anchorage and at the moment solely has one Assembly member, Chris Constant. 

RELATED:Anchorage Assembly approves reapportionment map

A particular election shall be held to fill the emptiness. 

The submitting interval for individuals all for working for the brand new District 1 seat shall be from 8 A.M. on May 3 to five p.m. on May 10. The final day for residents to register to vote for the particular election is May 22. 

Ballots shall be mailed to eligible voters on May 31, and the final day to submit ballots shall be June 21. 

[Sign up for Alaska Public Media’s daily newsletter to get our top stories delivered to your inbox.]

Source hyperlink

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.