7 Anchorage residents file to run for new Assembly seat

A city street as seen from above
Downtown Anchorage in June 2021. (Lex Treinen/Alaska Public Media)

Seven Anchorage residents have filed to run for a brand new twelfth seat on the Anchorage Assembly. 

The seat represents District 1 — which covers North Anchorage, together with downtown. The space has lengthy been represented by only one seat, presently crammed by Assembly member Chris Constant. In 2020, voters accepted a change within the metropolis’s constitution to create a second elected seat to signify District 1.

To account for the brand new seat, the district additionally elevated in measurement — roughly doubling — when the town set new district boundaries earlier this yr. It was renamed the North Anchorage district.

The individuals working to fill the brand new Assembly seat are Robin Phillips, Tasha Hotch, Daniel Volland, Robyn Forbes, Cliff Baker, Hans Thompson and Stephanie Taylor.

The particular election might be carried out by mail, with ballots despatched out on May 31. Only individuals residing within the North Anchorage district will vote within the election. The final day for residents to register to vote is May 22. Ballots are due by June 21.

Source hyperlink

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.